Advice Column – linden stave

Advice from a real live Human

with Linden Stave

 

Dear Mr. Stave,

 

Lately, I have been picked on a lot. I don’t like to use the word bullied because that makes me seem weak but sometimes it really feels like all the kids at my school are picking on me because I’m different. I tried letting it slide, and I even tried playing along and making self deprecating jokes myself but I just ended up feeling worse. I really believe that these kids will eventually learn their lesson, but it’s gotten to the point of being very annoying and quite hurtful. What can I do to make the taunting stop?

 

Sincerely,

Bummed

 

Dear Bummed,

 

I’m gonna be honest with you, that’s some pretty rough stuff, but I admire your optimism and fortitude.

 

It’s hard being the minority in any situation, and it’s harder in school. The root cause of bullying lies in ignorance and low self esteem. It’s quite apparent you’re more mature than your classmates, use that fact to your advantage.

 

I would bet most of the kids aren’t bullying you with intent to emotionally harm you, they are just testing you. Imagine school as a pet store. There are established groups of friends and cliques like the dogs or the fish already put in place. When a new different pet like a cockatoo comes in, the other pets may be fearful of the cockatoo. They are scared because they don’t know how to react to different pets, even if they realize they’re all pets.

 

Some kids use teasing as a test to see if you are different from them. Once you’ve proven that you’re just the same as everyone else, they will accept you. I know it is unfair, but I’m afraid that is one option.
That said, you must use your mature judgement. If you think the teasing has gone too far like you mentioned, you should talk to a teacher or parent. Be very polite and don’t accuse them of anything, simply repeat what they have said to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *